Act 149 of the 1984 Louisiana Legislature enacted a mandatory education requirement for anyone born on or after Sept. 1, 1969. All young hunters must successfully complete the course prior to purchasing a hunting license.
Older hunters who plan to hunt out of state should check the regulation where they plan to hunt. All 50 states now require some form of mandatory hunter education certification prior to issuing a license.
The course dates are as follows:
The courses are taught at the St Martin Sheriff’s Training Academy, 1815 Terrace Highway, St. Martinville.
The courses is free and all supplies are provided but seating is limited and pre-registration is required. Please call 394-2700 between 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. weekdays to register.
Course hours are 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. Saturday and 8 a.m. until finished on Sunday Students must be present at all portions of the Saturday and Sunday course. Students too young to drive must have an adult parent or guardian attend with them.
Only persons 10 years of age or older are eligible for hunter certification. Younger persons may participate in course, however.
To be certified, a hunter must pass a written test with a score of 75 percent or better and complete a live-fire exercise. The Louisiana Hunter Education Certification Card that is recognized by all other states.
The objectives of the Hunter Education programs are to reduce the number of hunting accidents, improve the image of hunting through ethical and responsible conduct, and promote the shooting sports.
The curriculum includes:
•Ethics and responsibility;
•Firearms and ammunition;
•Safety in the field;
Note: The last day of this standard hunter education course does not serve as a field day to complete the online home study program. To schedule a field day access the “home study program” link from the “hunting” menu at www.wlf.louisiana.gov.